Message from Head

JB

Prof. Julien S. BAKER

Head, Department of Sport, Physical Education and Health

Welcome to the Department of Sport, Physical Education and Health. The inclusion of “Sport” in our department name reflects an academic specialization among our staff and a key professional field taken up by our graduates. A departmental milestone of the Department’s sport involvement is the “Elite Athletes Admission Scheme”, which was started in 2016 offering scholarships to eligible student athletes enrolling in undergraduate programmes in the University.

 

The Department of Sport, Physical Education and Health has a strong and dedicated academic and teaching team (over 30 full-time professors and lecturers in different programmes - associate degree, undergraduate, master, and doctoral levels). Our developing academic research culture focuses on physical activity, health, exercise science, exercise biochemistry, cardiovascular disease, obesity and diabetes, aged population, children's health, physical education, health and wellness promotion, and sport management. Our service ties the department to the broader community through voluntary services with various national sport associations, non-government organizations and the public.

 

The UGC-funded undergraduate programme (Physical Education and Recreation Management, since 1992) is the first degree programme specializing in recreation management in Hong Kong. Our second undergraduate top-up programme (Sport and Recreation Leadership, since 2005) focuses on preparing professionals in sport and recreation services for special populations and general public. Together with graduates of the Master Degree in “Sport and Leisure Management” programme (incepted since 2001), our alumni work as administrators, sport coaches, physical education teachers, managers, and officers in national sport associations, Leisure & Cultural Services Department, non-government organizations, schools, recreation camps, sport and recreation clubs, fitness clubs, and disciplinary forces.

 

For all potential students, I welcome you to our big family. Lastly, I can proudly say that we “care”, we love “sport” and we strive to provide quality academic learning, training, research and services in sport and recreation to you and contribute to “Be a Fit and Healthy” Hong Kong.

 

Prof. Julien S. BAKER

Head, Department of Sport, Physical Education and Health

主任寄語

JB

貝克(Julien S. BAKER)教授

體育、運動及健康學系系主任

歡迎來到體育、運動及健康學系。本學系名稱中的「運動」體現我們致力於運動方面的學術研究及專長,以及畢業生所從事相關的專業範疇。此外,學系參與了“精英運動員錄取計劃”,該計劃於2016年啟動,旨在為於大學攻讀本科的合資格學生運動員提供獎學金,是為本學系一項里程碑。

 

體育、運動及健康學系為一支強大而敬業的學術和教學團隊  (擁有超過30名全日制教授和講師,授予包括副學士、本科、碩士和博士學位課程),學術研究文化著重於發展體能活動、健康、運動科學、運動生物化學、心血管疾病、肥胖和糖尿病、年長人群、兒童健康、體育教育、促進健康和運動管理。另外,本學系亦透過志願服務,與各國家體育協會、非政府組織及公眾等合作,讓我們更廣泛地與社區聯繫起來。

 

教資會資助的「體育及康樂管理」本科課程於1992年成立,為香港首個專門為教育康樂管理而設立的學位課程。於2005年,學系開設第二個本科「運動及康樂領袖」學位課程,該自資學位課程旨在為特殊人群和公眾培養體育及康樂服務專業人才。此外,於2001年成立 的「體育及休閒管理」碩士學位課程,亦培育了不少優秀人才,畢業生多從事包括體育協會的行政人員、運動教練、體育老師、經理和管理人員等相關工作,並於康樂及文化事務署、非政府組織、各院學、休閒營、運動休閒俱樂部、健身俱樂部和紀律部隊等不同崗位工作。

 

對於所有有興趣入讀的學生,歡迎加入我們的大家庭。最後,我可以自豪地表示,我們「關心」並熱愛「運動」,努力為學生提供優質的體育和康樂方面的學習環境、培訓、研究及服務,並為香港「健康」作出貢獻。

 

貝克(Julien S. BAKER)教授
體育、運動及健康學系系主任